Update #2: eBook Challenge

Another quick update of my personal challenge to read books using the eBook format instead of the print format. Here’s the original challenge and the first update. I’ve read 57 books this year.

14 ebooks
13 audiobooks (either on CD or downloaded from the eMedia collection)
30 print books

You can find a list of the titles of books I’ve read on my Goodreads profile.

I’ve observed something interesting while reading using my Kindle in public. Instead of being asked if I like the book I’m reading or what the book is about (like when I’m reading in print), I get asked about the act of using my Kindle.

Do you like reading on that? What is it? Does it have games? Don’t you miss reading paper books? Which eReader should I get?

I am never asked about what I’m reading while I’m reading using my Kindle. I miss having those sorts of conversations, but I think we lose the conversation-starter of the cover of a book when we use eReaders. I know some people don’t like to talk about what they’re reading, but I love to! I’m not sure how we’ll move that conversation to eReaders because we live in such a visually-focused society.

In another attempt to be eReader-friendly at the library, I’ve eliminated the Summer Reading Program requirement to mark your minutes on a bookmark. We are using a different reading record instead. My hopes are that we’ll not only save paper at the library, but we aren’t limiting our readers by format by giving them a bookmark. We encourage them to read/listen to audiobooks, use their eReaders and also pick up newspapers and magazines.

Leave a Reply

