An eBook Challenge

Between Christmas and New Year’s Eve, the library was full of people who received ereaders as gifts. We have gladly helped each and every patron and provided service in whatever way we can. In some ways, though, it is difficult because we (librarians) are learning about ebooks right along with the patrons. During the past week, I started thinking about my use of ebooks and my personal Kindle Touch and NOOK Color. Yes. I had 2 ereaders until I gave my younger brother my NOOK Color for Christmas. 

I’m more likely to check out a traditional print book than go onto my account and check out an ebook. I think this is because I spend the day being surrounded by print books in the physical library. So I’ve created a challenge for myself.

  • Every novel I purchase for myself this year will be an ebook.
  • When borrowing a book from the library, I will borrow the ebook if it is available (even if that means I have to put it on hold and wait for it). If no ebook is available for the title I want to read, I will check out the print copy.

That’s it. Shouldn’t be too hard, right? We’ll see! Look for an update in a few months.

6 Responses to An eBook Challenge

  1. I’m challenging myself to read at least twelve books on my Nook this year. Good luck with your challenge.

  2. wowigo says:

    I like the writing structure of your blog..I found so many intresting posts in your blog..

    by,
    porwin ebook

  3. […] promised, here’s a quick update on my reading during the past 3 months. I’ve read 27 books so […]

  4. […] challenge to read books using the eBook format instead of the print format. Here’s the original challenge and the first update. I’ve read 57 books this […]

  5. […] year I challenged myself to read the digital format of a book instead of the print version. I am happy to say that I […]

  6. I like looking through a post that will make people think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

Leave a Reply

