Veterans Day Story & Craft

Since the school year began, I’ve held a Story & Craft hour one night a month. In September we read The Little Scarecrow Boy by Margaret Wise and painted scarecrow suncatchers. We had 17 students participate. In October we read That Terrible Halloween Night by James Stevenson and made monster magnets! That night got a little chaotic because we had 23 students participate and we didn’t have enough eyes for everyone’s monsters – good thing some people wanted to make cyclops monsters anyway!

Since our Story & Craft hour was scheduled the week of Veterans Day, we read America’s White Table by Margot Theis Raven and then created our own books about Veterans Day using these instructions for an Accordion Index Card Book by Susan Kapuscinski Gaylord. We had 9 students participate – a perfect number for this more difficult craft.

The smaller number of students also allowed us to talk about Veterans Day and what it means to our community. I heard all about family members who were in the Navy or Army, but I also heard about the programs at school and how they didn’t have school on Friday.

In the story, the words of the song My Country Tis of Thee are included. I asked the students if they knew the song – they gave me blank looks. So I used the best voice I had and started to sing the song I sang every single morning in second grade. After the first few lines and uncomfortable blank faces watching me, I stopped and asked if they knew it. Nope.

So I told them maybe I’d serenade them and sing it while we did our craft. One little boy raised his hand and said, “Maybe you should look it up on YouTube so we can hear it from someone that can sing.” The way he said it was so thoughtful – he didn’t say it to be a smartypants or to offend me. I just laughed and laughed and laughed with the moms in the room; the other students thought he had a great idea!

And this is why I love my position at Muir Library…

One Response to Veterans Day Story & Craft

  1. web sitesi says:

    web sitesi…

    […]Veterans Day Story & Craft « I found myself in the library…[…]…

Leave a Reply

