[Series] A librarian’s bookshelf – August

I’ve been in my position as Library Director for a couple of months now. While in library school, I made an effort to keep reading “for fun” books. I blogged about them here! One of the ways I’m getting to know my patrons and my collection better is through reading! And today marks the last day I will allow myself to read YA or Junior Fiction… for a while, at least. I usually read a balance of non-fiction, adult, YA and J fiction, but this summer I’ve been focusing on the last two.

Here’s why: I feel my library’s YA and J fiction collections are somewhat outdated and I wanted to read what my younger patrons are reading to become a better collection manager and readers’ advisor.While I haven’t read *everything* my patrons read this summer, I do have a better understanding of both what I may suggest for them to read next and what type of YA and J fiction I personally enjoy.

Now that the Summer Reading Program is finished at our library, I have decided I need to work on moving back to adult fiction and non-fiction because the majority of my Sept – May patrons are adult (and many are retired). Before I start the beautiful journey of reading what my adult patrons are reading, here’s a list of the top 7 most popular* reads this summer. For everything else I read this summer, check out my GoodReads!

* popular is defined here as MY personal favorites combined with what’s popular amongst my younger patrons at the library

The List!

  1. Uglies series (Uglies, Pretties, Specials, Extras) by Scott Westerfeld
    – dystopia fiction with a strong female character is always a hit for me!
  2. The Wolves of Mercy Falls series (Shiver, Linger, Forever) by Maggie Stiefvater
    – a love story of a werewolf and a human and their desire to live
  3. Avalon High Coronation graphic novels (The Merlin Prophecy, Homecoming and Hunter’s Moon) by Meg Cabot
    – sequel(s) to Avalon High in the format of manga – fantastic novel-to-comix bridge books
  4. Diary of a Wimpy Kid series (books 1-5) by Jeff Kinney
    –  journal complete with laughs, doodles and lessons learned
  5. Paper Towns by John Green
    – highschool crush turned missing person mystery
  6. Deep and Dark and Dangerous: A ghost story by Mary Downing Hahn
    – Will Ali and Emma be able to have a good time at the lake cabin this summer or will history come back to haunt them?
  7. Roscoe Riley Rules series (by Katherine Applegate)
    – Short chapters featuring 1st-grader Roscoe Riley’s silly stories of his adventures at school.

And with that, I head into my 5th month as Library Director of Muir Library and a couple months of adult-focused-reading. Look for another update from my bookshelf soon!

One Response to [Series] A librarian’s bookshelf – August

  1. Lauren says:

    I gotta say, I didn’t love the UGLIES series. I read the first book and was only meh about it. Does it get better? I have the rest of the books; i’ll probably read them at some point. I did, however, LOVE PAPER TOWNS. In fact, I love all of John Green’s books. He’s so good. How’re the AVALON HIGH graphic novels? I read the book and really enjoyed it; I haven’t gotten around to the graphic novels yet.

Leave a Reply

