#cpd23 – 23 Things for Professional Development

I decided to join the 23 Things for Professional Development. I’m a day late, but I don’t think that matters too much. I’m taking part in this to meet new people. I’ve been blogging (mainly focused on my MLIS education) for a couple of years. But now that I’m in the professional world of libraryland, it would be nice to hear some ideas and suggestions for keeping current and continuing my professional development with my always-busy schedule.

My career: If you read my other posts, you’ll see I’m the Library Director at Muir Library in Winnebago, MN. I recently graduated from the University of Washington iSchool. I also am a proud member of the HackLibSchool editing team!

My hopes for cpd23

  • meet new contacts in libraryland!
  • become more comfortable with technologies I don’t use already!
  • advocate for making time for professional development in rural areas

Now you may ask why I say “in rural areas”. Here’s why. I’m currently working in a rural area (one of the poorest counties in Minnesota) where the public demand for the library is high, the support of the library is fantastic and where the librarian (me) does everything from readers’ advisory for people at nursing homes to shelving picture books to updating the Facebook and Twitter accounts to compiling the annual reports. In these full days, it is necessary to step back and remember the big picture of librarianship. One important way to do that (and to stay current) is to continue education (formally or informally). And we should be paid to do that.

 

7 Responses to #cpd23 – 23 Things for Professional Development

  1. Nice to meet you, Heidi! I’ve been to some small towns in Minnesota, but not Winnebago. Sounds like you perform a great service there!

  2. Jake says:

    Hello Heidi!

    I’m in a new position at my library called “collections Librarian” this means that I oversee the entire life cycle of materials. I am the head of acquisitions, I am the primary cataloger, I am responsible for marketing the collecting and overseeing the employees that are responsible for displays, books lists, etc, and I’m in charge of running the weeding lists and oversee collection maintenece at the end of the lifespan of materials.

    It sounds like a lot, but it’s surprising how nicely a lot of my tasks all work together. The one I enjoy the least is cataloging, but since we are a small-ish public library, most of our materials are just in need of copy cataloging from OCLC.

    My library is located in Central Nebraska with a population of about 25,000 people. It’s a good gig. I like it.

    I look forward to reading your blog over the course of cpd23.

    Cheers!

  3. Tamara Cox says:

    Hi. Just visiting from CPD23. I’m a middle school librarian in SC. Fun to make more connections this way:)

  4. Thanks for the comments, everyone!

  5. I didn’t realise #cpd23 was taking place on a global scale. Well, hello Minnesota from a small valley in Wales. I work in a university library a stone’s throw from where Tom Jones was born and raised before becoming an international superstar.
    I like the ideas in your blog – the RSS feed, category cloud, and your creative commons licence – all things I must find out if I can add to mine. πŸ™‚

  6. Catherine McLaren says:

    Hi I’m visiting form cpd23. I’ve been looking at some blogs (finding them very interesting) and yours in the first international one I have come across. It all sounds very interesting what you are doing – something’s very different, something’s very similar to what is happening in health libraries in the UK where I work. I look forward to reading more about libraries in Minnesota.

  7. Marissa K. Mason says:

    Hi, I’ve just found your blog through HackLibSchool — what a monumental discovery in itself — it’s so encouraging to see how other lib students are making it!

    I like the idea of having a portfolio on your blog. Do you think a blog can help find a job post-graduation?

    My newly created blog is at http://marissakmason.com

Leave a Reply

