I love a good audiobook!

My latest tweet: I really do love a good #audiobook — in the car, on a walk, at work, while I clean, bake, crochet, etc. http://bit.ly/fNwcC3

The Audio Publishers Association has a new contest called Get Caught Listening! You can wish cash prizes and it ends May 15. Make a video of why/where/how/when/yougetthepicture you listen to audiobooks and enter the contest! I’m seriously considering this. I’ve been in LOVE with audiobooks for years and I can’t even count how many times I’ve had a conversation with someone who says, “I just can’t listen to them. That’s not REAL reading…”

Here’s what I think – listening to audiobooks is more difficult than reading a book – It’s as though you have to learn how to “read” books with your ears! It takes a certain book and a certain voice to make a good audiobook; however, once you find a book you like and an activity you can do while you listen, you’ll yearn for an audiobook at every silent moment.

Here are my top 3 FAVORITE audiobooks (story, voice, characters, etc.)

1. The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
2. In a Sunburned Country – Bill Bryson — (really ANYTHING by him and that he reads is amazing on audiobook)
3. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

And while this one doesn’t make my all-time top favorite-ist books, it was a great way to introduce me to the genre of modern romance novels. I appreciated the tone of humor (by the author and reader) and the pacing of the reader’s voice. I don’t think I would have finished this book had I been reading it with my eyes.

Welcome to Temptation – Jennifer Crusie

And with that, I think it is time to go for a walk and listen to my book. I’m listening to Blue Heaven by C.J. Box.

2 Responses to I love a good audiobook!

  1. SandySays1 says:

    Audio books are great, if well read, and I love the three selections. The only problem is there aren’t enough of some of the great ones available yet!
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. Ok so for my road trip, we got Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and Dune. Let me just say, Dune was must easier to listen to because they added background, ambient noises and every now and again, different voices for the character’s. I’m learning how to read an audiobook, it’s still new to me.

Leave a Reply

