2 years later: a reflection

I started blogging 2 years ago. to.the.date… This is my first blog post.

In that first post, I wrote about how I pretty much LIVED in the library and had decided to attend graduate school to get my MLIS. Today, I’m 2 years older and officially done with my MLIS coursework! Look at that! DREAMS DO COME TRUE!

So, here’s the reflecting part — the fact that I live in the library is still fact, but I am not physically IN a library for 8+ hours a day. Instead, I’ve learned that the library is the PEOPLE – the COMMUNITY. For the past 2 years, my social life, schooling, work, pleasure reading, blogging, tweeting, etc. has been library-related. I fit in here (in the library). I am comfortable sharing my thoughts and communicating with other people, but I also feel challenged to think critically. I think this combination makes my environment for learning rich. so rich.

In my first post, I shared a story from my early days of being a library cardholder. And so, I leave you with a not-even-week-old-story.

I recently had a phone interview for a job position where I was asked this question: “Sometimes it is difficult for library employees to follow policies and procedures because of conflicting opinions. Please tell us what you would do in this situation.” I asked for clarification of the types of policies or procedures and was given the example of when a lady returns a library book that was damaged and doesn’t want to pay for it (even though it is the policy). This lady would also be my friend.

I can see how this would be difficult for some people to push policy and force your friend to pay for the book, but I don’t think that would be an issue for me.

Being part of the library community (a library cardholder) is an exciting and life-changing opportunity. However, I was raised knowing that being a library cardholder gives you rights and also responsibilities. You are given the right to check out any book you want, read/watch whatever you want, use the Internet and the library databases, suggest purchases to the library, etc.; however, you are also responsible for following policy and procedure within the library. This could mean leaving the building when it is closing, not ripping e-formatted files and giving them to everyone else, and it also means paying your fines for late or damaged materials.

This is essentially how I answered my interview question. I also said that whether or not the person was my friend, I would express my gratitude for her involvement in the library community and offer to have more conversations with her about the rights and responsibilities of the library community.

So, raise your coffee cup, diet pepsi, water bottle, energy drink. Here’s to another 2+ years of living, learning and loving in the library!

Leave a Reply

