Reading for fun in Library School (series finale)

I’m graduating! (*stands on chair and does a little celebration dance!*) And with that, I am ending my “Reading for fun in Library School” series; I will keep writing about what I’m reading, though. Here’s what I’ve read during the past couple of months.

Top 5 Reads (in order of date read — from Dec – today)

  1. Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger
    I passed this book onto my sister over Winter Break. She loved The Time Traveler’s Wife as much as I did, so I thought she’d enjoy this, too.
  2. The Man Who Loved Books Too Much: The True Story of a Thief, a Detective, and a World of Literary Obsession by Allison Hoover Bartlett
    I started and stopped reading this book last summer. I picked it up again for a bookclub and read it in one sitting. I enjoyed learning the history of rare book collectors.
  3. The Giver trilogy by Lois Lowry
    I didn’t know this was a trilogy until I tried searching for it in Overdrive. I listened to all three (The Giver, Gathering Blue and Messenger) at work in January. The Giver is still my favorite.
  4. Monkeewrench by P.J. Tracy
    Nancy Pearl gave me this book after I finished her class. She knew I was a sucker for anything set in Minnesota and had a good story. She was right (when is she ever wrong?!); I couldn’t stop reading it and I will be reading the next in the series as soon as I finish school.
  5. At Home: A Short History of Private Life by Bill Bryson
    This book crossed my desk at work a few months ago and I put it on hold immediately; however, when it finally got to me, I didn’t have time to read it. I checked out the audiobook (read by Bryson) and listed to it at work and LOVED it. I love his voice (his actual voice and his writing style) and the bits of history he chooses to mention.

I’ve read several other books in the past few months, but I have also realized (once again) that it isn’t necessary to read a book you just aren’t liking. I started several books and put them down after 50-100 pages. I read until I know two things: 1. why I’m not liking it and 2. what type of reader would like this book.

I mark them as “read” on my GoodReads, but I also mark them as “unfinished” because I know there will come a day when I’m in the mood for one of these books and I am glad I’ll be able to return to it with a new perspective.

What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

