What is a Stand-alone Library?

WHAT IS A STAND-ALONE LIBRARY?

I don’t know. I would really like some guidance (resources, opinions, experiences, etc) about this question.

Here’s what I know:

  • Many public libraries are branches of a larger library system
  • Many public libraries receive funding from the state/county/city 
  • Many public libraries are parts of larger systems that work together to create tools for using databases, designing the catalog and providing inter-library loan services. 

But here’s what I don’t know:

  • What is a stand-alone library?

Help! (please)

I asked myself this question multiple times during the summer, but now, as I sit down to work with a group on an assignment for LIS 522: Collection Development, I find myself still uninformed or misinformed about what a stand-alone library truly is. And now, here we are – my group is attempting to define it.

Leave a Reply

