I’m 22 years old today, and I live in a library.

Today’s my birthday. I’m 22 years old and graduating from a small liberal arts school in Minnesota in early May. What does that have to do with a library? Nothing.

When I was in third grade, I was allowed to take my library card home with me instead of leaving it at the library for the adults to guard for me.

Around that same time, I checked out a Peanuts – Snoopy comic book. Then I lost it. Well, I didn’t lose it, but the library thought I did and they wanted to charge me more money than a third grader can imagine for the book that I lost. One Saturday, my family searched all the bookshelves in our house until we found that silly book – behind the television where my sister had thrown it when she was upset at me. I returned it to the library and regained access privileges to the collection of books.

This was my first run-in with the law of the library.

During the month of May in 2006, I worked at the college library as the lab consultant – I fixed paper jams, computers, printers, and put tattle tape in mouses and keyboards. The next fall, I found a suitable place to study in the library. The table, facing windows at sidewalk level, allowed me to watch people without being watched. I could plug in my laptop, study and stretch my papers and books across the table without worrying about distracting anyone else. That table became my refuge. I brought my books there right away in the morning and didn’t leave until late at night – sometimes I left my belongings at the table to ‘secure’ it so no one would dare take MY spot.

I now spend an average of 8 hours a day in this library – sometimes at this same table, but mostly working as the lab consultant as well as helping at the Circulation and Curriculum Desks.

My life is consumed by the library. And I love it.

I’m going to graduate school this fall. For Library and Information Science.

2 Responses to I’m 22 years old today, and I live in a library.

  1. Leah says:

    And we're going to miss you

  2. […] started blogging 2 years ago. to.the.date… This is my first blog […]

Leave a Reply

